The state of Utah is known for its picturesque landscape and stunning views. But before you hit the open road with your motorcycle, you must understand Utah’s basic motorcycle regulations to ride worry-free. Let’s check some important Motorcycle Laws in Utah.
You are legally required to have motorcycle insurance to operate your vehicle in Utah. Otherwise, you might face steep penalties, fines, a suspended license, and hefty out-of-pocket expenses in case of an accident.
Lane filtering is using the road space between vehicles. While Utah law does legalize lane filtering, it’s only under certain circumstances, such as if the vehicles on either side are stationary and you’re under 15 mph.
In Utah, it’s illegal to ride a motorcycle without a license. To get one, you must be 16 years or older, have a state driving license, pass the motorcycle skills exam, get a learner’s permit, and pay the licensing fees.
Utah does not require adult riders (18+) to wear helmets. However, underage riders must wear protective headgear. Either way, wearing bike helmets can significantly reduce the risk of head, face, and fatal injuries.
Some laws are unique to motorcycles. For example, motorcycles can only pass vehicles in front of them by changing lanes, and only two can run side by side on a single lane. Also, motorcyclists are entitled to a full lane.
Riding a motorcycle is incredibly freeing. But it can also be dangerous. If you were involved in a motorcycle accident, you need an experienced motorcycle accident attorney to seek justice. Call Carlson Injury Law today!